The seven countries of West Africa, signatories of Free Roaming, evaluate the level of progress of the project

The seven West African countries that have agreed to abolish mobile roaming tariffs between them are currently meeting in Conakry, Guinea. These are Mali, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Benin and Togo.

Since August 28, 2019, they have been taking part in the Third Evaluation Meeting of Free Roaming, which is also attended by a representative of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the Executive Secretariat of the Assembly. Telecommunication Regulators of West Africa (ARTAO).

According to the host of the meeting, Antigou Cherif, director general of the Regulatory Authority of Posts and Telecommunications (ARPT) of Guinea, it is to assess “what worked, what did not work and what can be done to improve the process “.

At the end of the meeting today, August 29, 2019, recommendations will be formulated to complete the project, already on track, according to Lancinet Fofana, in charge of coordinating the Free roaming project in Côte d’Ivoire.

He said that “the report gives elements of appreciations, which show today a great satisfaction. Even if there are some adjustments to make, we think that in the long term, the free roaming will continue its course and it will be profitable to our populations by allowing them to have low prices of telecommunications when they move in the all the signatory States “.

The Free Roaming project began on March 31, 2017, following a memorandum of understanding signed in November 2016 between the regulators of seven West African countries. Initiated by Senegal, this project was born from the country’s desire to accelerate subregional integration through telecommunications.

Source: Agence Ecofin